NHL Playoffs Picture: NHL Playoffs Rankings, Bracket and Format

The 2022 Stanley Cup Playoffs begin Monday with games to be played in Carolina, Toronto, Minnesota and Edmonton. Here is the NHL playoff standings, bracket and format.


Atlantic Division 1) Florida 122 points
2) Toronto 115 points
3) Tampa Bay 110 points
4) Boston 107 points Metropolitan Division 1) Carolina 116 points
2) New York Rangers 110 points
3) Pittsburgh 103 points
4) Washington 100 points Central Division 1) Colorado 119 points 2) Minnesota 113 points
3) St. Louis 109 points
4) Dallas 98 points 5) Nashville 97 points Pacific Division 1) Calgary 111 points
2) Edmonton 104 points
3) Los Angeles 99 points


The second and third teams from each division face off in the first round. In the Atlantic Division, Toronto will face Tampa Bay. In the Metropolitan Division, the New York Rangers take on Pittsburgh. In the Central Division, Minnesota will face St. Louis. In the Pacific Division, Edmonton will face Los Angeles. The winners of each division will face one of two wildcard teams from each conference. Wildcard teams are the top two teams in each conference that are not among the top three teams in each division. In the Eastern Conference, the generic teams are Boston and Washington, In the Western Conference, the generic teams are Dallas and Nashville. The top team in each conference (Florida in the East and Colorado in the West) will face the lowest generic team in each conference (Washington in the East and Nashville in the West). Meanwhile, the division winner with the lowest record in each conference (Carolina in the East and Calgary in the West), will face the highest wildcard team in each conference (Boston in the East and Dallas in the West). So, in essence, Boston moves to the Metropolitan Division, Washington moves to the Atlantic Division, and Dallas moves to the Pacific Division. The winners of each series in each division will meet in the conference semifinals. Then there are two conference finals and the Stanley Cup final, as the winner of each conference final will play for the title.