Follow the Light Surf Photography Fellowship Program Partners with Coast Film & Music Festival

The Follow the Light Surf Photography Grants Program in memory of longtime SURFING magazine photo editor Larry “Flame” Moore will present its annual awards ceremony at the Coast Film & Music Festival in Laguna Beach on Saturday, November 12, was announced today by Summer Meek, President of the Follow the Light 2022 program.

Larry “Flame” Moore, Photo Editor of SURFING Magazine

“We are thrilled to bring the 2022 FTL Awards Ceremony to the Coast Film & Music Festival,” Meek said during the announcement. “Our judges narrowed down over 100 entries to our top 5 finalists who will all be on hand to share their work, and for the first time we have two women in our final five.”

With entries from around the world, the top five include Ali Huxman, Jack Bober and Kalani Cummins, all from California, and Australians Katey Shearer and Tom Hoy.

Established in 2006 after Flame’s untimely death and to honor his legacy of mentoring promising young surf photographers, FTL is open to participants between the ages of 16 and 25 from around the world. Each entrant submitted a portfolio of 15 photos with captions for each shot and an app that explores what drives and motivates these young artists in their work.

“FTL is a fantastic addition to the Coast Film & Music Festival,” said CFMF co-founder Ben Warner. “Flame was an icon in the world of surfing, and it’s gratifying to see his legacy continue and to be able to host the awards ceremony as part of our Oceans & Surf Saturday night at the Festival.”

The five finalists will have the opportunity to showcase their work at the awards ceremony, and the winning photographer will receive a $5,000 scholarship as well as a paid work opportunity at Billabong.

In keeping with tradition, the public will also have the opportunity to participate in the ‘People’s Choice’ award which will provide an opportunity for paid work with A New Earth Project under the guidance of renowned surf photographer Peter “PK” King.

The FTL judging panel includes past winners such as Chris Burkard, Todd Glaser, Shawn Parkin, Seth de Roulet, Nick Green and Paul Greene, as well as industry icons such as Jake Howard, Peter “PT” Townend, Pat Stacey and Bob Mignogna.

Judging is based on a 100 point scale with a maximum of 70 points awarded for the photographs themselves, 20 points for answers to app questions and 10 points for the “X-Factor”.

Tickets for the Coast Film Festival 2022 are on sale now and the 2022 FTL Awards Ceremony is included in the ticket price.

For more visit

About Follow the Light:

Shortly after legendary surf photographer and 30-year-old SURFING magazine photo editor Larry “Flame” Moore passed away in October 2005, a group of friends and family formed the “Follow the Light” to ensure that Flame’s legacy of passionately supporting emerging surf photographers continued. FTL has dedicated itself to honoring this new generation through an annual scholarship program that also included an awards ceremony highlighting the work of each of the five finalists. Running from 2006 to 2015, then brought back from 2019, “FTL” brings together our community of surf media and industry professionals, athletes and friends to recognize each year’s winner. Past winners include some of today’s most important and talented photographers.