Donegal Masters, same age Cross-Country – Donegal Daily

THE Donegal Masters and even the Ages Cross Country Championships were held in Carndongh on Sunday.

In a titanic battle for the Master Men title, Finn Valley AC’s Dermot McElchar fended off the attentions of Eoghain McGinley (Letterkenny AC) and Martin Cunningham (Tir Chonaill AC) to secure the victory.

There were only seven seconds left between the top three at the end with Ciaran McGonagle (Letterkenny) and Charlie O’Donnell following.

With John McElhill (6th), Shane McNulty (7th) and team captain Barry Gallagher (12th) supporting winner McElchar, Finn Valley took the team crown.

Claire McGuigan of Lifford-Strabane AC won the women’s Masters title.

McGuigan defeated Helen McCready of Rosses AC with Lifford-Strabane duo Elaine Connor and Linda McGrath third and fourth.

McGuigan had an exceptional run to win the individual title and she was followed home with excellent runs by her teammates Elaine Connor – who took bronze – Linda McGrath in 4th and Dymphna Houston in 11th, meaning that Lifford-Strabane won the title with 19 points with the Rosses team taking silver with 23 points – a first tag team title for the Lifford-Strabane club since forming in 2015.

Oisin Kelly of Cranford AC won the boys under 18 race ahead of Ryan Quinn of Finn Valley AC and Eoghan Mac Dhonaill of Inishowen.

Sarah Bradley, Nuala Bose and Emer O’Brien scored twice at Finn Valley in the Under-18 race.

Letterkenny AC newcomer Rohan McMenamin won the Under-14 boys’ race, narrowly edging Odhran McBrearty of Finn Valley and Daragh Naughton of Letterkenny. Letterkenny won the team award.

Letterkenny AC Under 16 boys

Letterkenny AC also won the Boys Under-16 title, led by Philip McGee and Mark Galvin in the first and second row.

A stunning women’s Under-14 race was won by Letterkenny AC’s Emma Bonar and the girls in black and amber took the tag team title with Sophie Ellis, Anna Russell and Cara McGonagle in the top eleven.

Bonnar faced guest runner Sarah Mulvaney-Kelly of North Leitrim AC to win the race with Ellis in third, closely followed by Faela Houston of Rosses AC.

Letterkenny AC Under 14 Girls

Miah Fletcher won the women’s under-16 race, beating Ciara Kerrigan and Zara Alexander, both of Finn Valley AC.

Finn Valley AC dominated the women’s under-12 race with the top five positions. The race was won by Niamh McGlinchey, who was ably supported by Aoibhin McElhinney, Amy McElchar, Andrea Reid and Saorla McGlinchey for a dominant team victory.

Finn Valley U12 boys

Joshua O’Donnell of Finn Valley edged out the boys under 12 race of Caoimhin Crawford of Inishowen with Mark Alexander of Finn Valley AC in third.

Oisin McHugh of Cranford won the Boys Under 10 title, Evie Gallagher (Finn Valley) was the Girls Under 8 winner, Caoimhe McElhinney (Finn Valley) won the Girls Under 10 race years old and Shay McHugh (Finn Valley) was the under-8. winning boys.

Special photo and report: Donegal Masters, same ages Cross-Country was last modified: October 5, 2021 through Chris McNulty